Spring Issue

Ozark, Mindhunter,
SOC Looks Forward




Congratulations to the Camera Operator of The Year – Film – Roberto De Angelis – Baby Driver and Camera Operator of The Year – Television Bob Gorelick, SOC – Stranger Things. It was a night to remember.  A thank you to all the Honorees, Nominees, Presenters and Sponsorship who make the event a celebration.

Join the Society of Camera Operators Membership Drive

In 2019, the Society of Camera Operators will be proudly marking its 40th Anniversary. As we reach this prestigious benchmark, the Board of Governors wants to ensure another 40 years of celebrating and strengthening the time honored craft of the camera operator.

As noted in the opening sentence of our mission statement, “The Society of Camera Operators (SOC) advances the art, craft, and creative contributions of the camera operator”.  We are confident that you share the same mission, and ask that you seriously consider taking a more active role to that end by joining your fellow Camera Operators and/or inviting fellow colleagues, helping to insure the future of our great craft.

With the goal of doubling the size of the SOC in one year, it will take all camera operators in all regions, to join this call to action.  For membership categories, qualifications, application and fees.

Atlanta Workshop for Camera Operators and First Assistants

The Society of Camera Operators will be hosting a workshop for Camera Operators and First Assistants in Atlanta on Saturday July 7th at 10:00 AM! Get hands on experience from skilled teachers and professionals on hand held operating, geared head operating and jib operating. Space is limited and seats are going fast, if you would like access to this workshop please check the event page on SOC.org/events for information.


Celebrating the 10th year of University of California Santa Barbara Film Studies student organized CamCon weekend workshop and lecture series the SOC has been participating from the onset. Past SOC President Dave Frederick, SOC Charity Chair Alicia Robbins and new active member Brennan Maxwell presented to the students the goals and accomplishments of the SOC, career opportunities of Camera Operating, the on set practices, skills and techniques of camera operating and with the continued support of SOC partner Tiffen, two Steadicam rigs and one on one coaching by Dave and Brennan. Alicia presented a hand held workshop with scene breakdown, blocking and complete hand held coverage. The SOC looks forward to continuing the student outreach and encouragement to engage in the Camera Operating experience.

Follow Us

Corporate Members

For full list of Corporate Members, click here.