In Case You Missed It . . .

If you missed these events, you can now watch the videos on the Content Portal:


Education Series

Vision: A Look into Eyesight and Eye Care for Camera Operators with Thomas C. Lee M.D. & Simon Jayes, SOC

ZEISS Cinema Lenses for Super 35 Full Frame and Beyond with Snehal Patel, ZEISS Cine Sales Director & David Sammons, SOC


Happy Hours

  • March 2021 with Eric Fletcher, SOC & David Sammons, SOC
  • April 2021 with Michael Frediani, SOC & Geoff Haley, SOC
  • May 2021 with Bill McClelland, SOC, Sharra Romany, SOC & Ian Takahashi, SOC
  • August 2021 with Alfeo Dixon, SOC, Nikk Hearn-Sutton, SOC & Pauline Edwards, SOC

In Memoriam:
Dan Kneece

It is with profound sadness and a heavy heart that I regretfully inform you that Dan Kneece, SOC, has passed away. His death occurred this past weekend.

Dan was truly an original and unforgettable presence. I first met Dan in the early 90’s. I was “self taught” at Steadicam at the time. I had the good luck of meeting him and he became my first real legitimate instructor. Politely encouraging me, correcting my terrible bad habits. He was genuinely gracious with his time. I still remember running through the halls of Cinema Products with Dan following over my shoulder pushing me to do it right.

Dan was truly accomplished and esteemed in his career. He was one of the “originals” in the Steadicam community. He amassed a legacy body of work. And I admired it greatly. He was also past President of the SOC during a very transformative period for the organization. As well as a long-standing member of the NEB Board at Local 600. He gave his time and commitment with passion.

With his trademark head of hair and smooth southern drawl. He was always Dan. And the one and only. He was truly special.

We will all miss him dearly.

My condolences and deepest sympathies to all of his family and friends. And the entire SOC community.

May the blessings of the universe find him and keep him always.

George Billinger
President SOC

Learn about SOC Membership

If you’re not yet a member, you can get info on membership types, prerequisites, and benefits here.


Upcoming Events

Cine Gear Los Angeles

September 23 - September 25
Over 300 exhibits, new product and service introductions, 30+ complimentary seminars led by industry...

NAB Show Las Vegas

October 9 - October 13
From concept to best-in-breed, the future is revealed at NAB Show®—however you choose to engage. ...


Camera Operator Summer 2021


Camera operator Bob Gorelick, SOC, shares what it was like to shoot Lovecraft Country, an American horror drama television series.

Starring Jurnee Smollett and Jonathan Majors, the series is about Atticus Black, who travels across the segregated 1950s United States in search of his missing father, learning of dark secrets plaguing a town on which famous horror writer H. P. Lovecraft supposedly based the location of many of his fictional tales.

Follow Us

Get SOC News

For a full list of Corporate Members, click here.