Society of Camera Operators Technical Achievement Award
Submission Is Open  


The Society of Camera Operators’ Technical Achievement Award online submission is open and will close on December 31, 2021 (deadline extended).

To qualify for a Technical Achievement Award, the technical development and the company and/or individuals responsible for it must meet the following criteria for technical excellence.

The development must be one of the following:

  • A completely new, important, and lasting device or technique, or
  • An essential and lasting innovation that modifies existing equipment, product, or technique, or
  • A significant improvement on, or adjunct to, existing equipment production equipment
The immeasurable and profound loss of Halyna Hutchins recently has touched us all. In loving memory of her passion, dreams, and beautiful indelible spirit, the Board of Governors for the Society of Camera Operators has made a donation to the Halyna Hutchins Memorial Scholarship Fund with the AFI Conservatory.
May her memory touch our lives and stay in our hearts always. In this time of overwhelming grief, we stand together as filmmakers, colleagues, and artists.
George Billinger, SOC
President, Society of Camera Operators


The Society of Camera Operators Board of Governors stands in solidarity with all members of IATSE in their efforts for a fair contract and safe working conditions. We urge our members to vote for a strike authorization.

Together we can create positive change for all members across the Film and Television industry.

Board of Governors
Society of Camera Operators

George Billinger, SOC, President
Mitch Dubin, SOC, First Vice President
Matthew Moriarty, SOC, Second Vice President
Daniel Turrett, SOC, Secretary
Bill McClelland, SOC, Treasurer
Dan Gold, SOC, Sergeant-at-Arms

David Emmerichs, SOC
Michael Frediani, SOC
Geoff Haley, SOC
Sharra Romany, SOC
David Sammons, SOC
Nikk Hearn-Sutton, SOC
John “Buzz” Moyer, SOC
Dave Thompson, SOC
Gretchen Warthen, SOC

In Memoriam:
Bob Newcomb

Bob Newcomb, beloved husband, father, grandfather, brother and friend, passed away on Sunday, September 26, 2021 in Conyers, Georgia. He died as he had lived—peacefully, courageously and surrounded by his family.

Bob was born on June 23, 1949 in Columbia, SC, son of the late Alan and Jeanne Newcomb. The family soon thereafter moved to Charlotte where Bob grew up. He attended East Mecklenburg High School in Charlotte, Lenoir Rhyne College in Hickory and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. After graduating from UNC’s Department of Radio/TV/Motion Pictures, he pursued a career as a director/cameraman, shooting hundreds of commercials for advertising agencies across the country. Later he became increasingly involved with longer form projects and ultimately worked as a camera operator and 2nd unit director of photography on episodic series and feature films, primarily working in Charlotte, Charleston SC, Atlanta, and Los Angeles. Bob was a member of the International Cinematographers Guild Local 600, the Directors Guild of America and the Society of Camera Operators. Read the full obituary

Memorial Service to Honor Bob Newcomb
Sunday, November 14, at 2:00 pm
First United Methodist Church
501 N. Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC 28202

To connect via streaming, please visit

In Memoriam:
Ronald I. McManus

Ronald Irving McManus was born on April 15, 1934, in Utica, New York, to Irving and Mable McManus, and passed away on September 30, 2021, in Hemet, California. But it is the dash in-between those two dates where the story lies. Ron lived a full life of love for our Lord Jesus, and love for his family. He grew up on a farm in upstate New York until his parents moved out West to San Diego in the 1940s. He served our nation proudly in the US Army during the 1950s, which was where he began his lifelong career in cinematography. Ron followed his dreams of filmmaking by graduating from the USC department of film in Los Angeles. Over the next several decades Ron worked on countless films and television shows in Hollywood and around the world, which was the source of the numerous stories he loved to tell, such as working with Lucille Ball and Lindsay Wagner, or meeting Eddy VanHalen and Evel Knievel. After his retirement from the film industry, he began his life in church ministry as a videographer. Ron is loved dearly by his family and friends and will be very missed in this life, but we know we who are in Christ will be reunited with him in eternity.

In Memoriam:
Dan Kneece

It is with profound sadness and a heavy heart that I regretfully inform you that Dan Kneece, SOC, has passed away. His death occurred this past weekend.

Dan was truly an original and unforgettable presence. I first met Dan in the early 90’s. I was “self taught” at Steadicam at the time. I had the good luck of meeting him and he became my first real legitimate instructor. Politely encouraging me, correcting my terrible bad habits. He was genuinely gracious with his time. I still remember running through the halls of Cinema Products with Dan following over my shoulder pushing me to do it right.

Dan was truly accomplished and esteemed in his career. He was one of the “originals” in the Steadicam community. He amassed a legacy body of work. And I admired it greatly. He was also past President of the SOC during a very transformative period for the organization. As well as a long-standing member of the NEB Board at Local 600. He gave his time and commitment with passion.

With his trademark head of hair and smooth southern drawl. He was always Dan. And the one and only. He was truly special.

We will all miss him dearly.

My condolences and deepest sympathies to all of his family and friends. And the entire SOC community.

May the blessings of the universe find him and keep him always.

George Billinger
President SOC

Learn about SOC Membership

If you’re not yet a member, you can get info on membership types, prerequisites, and benefits here.


Camera Operator Fall 2021

Finch: A Special SOC Video Conversation

On a post-apocalyptic earth, a robot built to protect the life of his creator’s beloved dog learns about life, love, friendship, and what it means to be human. Tom Hanks is Finch and the robot is played by Caleb Landry Jones.

Watch the multi-part interview with director Miguel Sapochnik, cinematographer Jo Willems, SBC and ASC, and camera operator Dave Thompson, SOC. They discuss life on set, the unique creative collaboration on Finch, and how their working relationship was built.

Follow Us

Get SOC News

For a full list of Corporate Members, click here.